EAST GOSHEN TOWNSHIP FUTURIST COMMITTEE MAY 21, 2014 FINAL

<u>Present</u>

Futurist Committee members: Rogers Vaughn, Luann Petrellis and Thomas Kilburn were in attendance for the meeting.

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Committee Chairman, Thomas Kilburn. The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance and there was a moment of silence for our military troops.

April 22, 2014 Minutes

Thomas Kilburn presented the motion that the April 22, 2014 Minutes be approved. Luann Petrellis seconded the motion and the minutes were approved by the entire Committee.

Research Discussion

Luanne Petrellis started the discussion session that she did research and sustainable Communities have repeated issues. She stated that energy conservation; minor taxing of resources helps protects them for the future. Rogers Vaughn suggested that the committee members contact the Chester County Planning Commission and they could give population demographics. Thomas Kilburn stated he would like to stop in at the Chester County Planning Commission Office and review demographics for East Goshen Township. East Goshen Township has a lot if citizens over 45 years of age which has a impact of what services the Township can provide, There are items such as putting in bike paths, walking trails, parks, shopping areas and good schools that would attract younger residents. The committee also brought up items such as sewer plants, road work, and police which occupy the township budget.

The focus for the next meeting

The Futurist Committee will take a look at what we have as the Comprehensive Plan. The recording secretary will contact the Township Manager, Rick Smith and have him send information for the Committee to review and they can discuss it at their next meeting. The Committee would like invite Senya Isyaeff to their monthly meetings

5/22/2014

FUTURIST COMMITTEE

Adjournment

Thomas Kilburn presented the motion to adjourn the meeting and Rogers Vaughn seconded the motion and the Committee adjourned the meeting at 8:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Joanne Morgan Receptionist/Secretary